Bohol Travel: The Bee Farm

There’s one thing that’s common through all of the people I’ve talked to before I decided to arrange a trip to Bohol, and that is to go to The Bee Farm.

It’s no secret that I don’t like insects. A most traumatic experience was when I was 4 years old and a bee stung my right eye when my childhood friends and I were picking Santan (or Ixora) flowers to harvest it’s “honey” on our garden. Little did I know that there was an angry bee ready to strike my unsuspecting eye.

I was the only one who got stung and I have to go to school looking like Quasimodo… Lucky me.

Anyway, regardless of my disastrous encounter with the buzzers, I included a trip to The Bee Farm nonetheless.

The tour guide holding one of the honeycombs with beez buzzing.
The tour guide holding one of the honeycombs with beez buzzing.

But the one that really struck me the most was the short tour. Since I’m an innately curious person, getting educated about bees and their perfect societal structure as well as their penchant in creating hexagons. I even dipped my finger in a honeycomb and got a taste of real, unadulterated, wild honey.

Holding a tray of honeycomb in The Bee Farm, Bohol
I feel so brave being the first one in the tour group to hold a tray of honeycomb when the guide offered
Various herbs being grown in this sustainable area. The Bee Farm, Bohol
Various herbs being grown in this sustainable area. The Bee Farm, Bohol
The walls in The Bee Farm made of coconut shells.
The walls in The Bee Farm made of coconut shells.

There was a Buzz Cafe there as well. A shop that sells honey in different bottle sizes, honey products and even skincare and cosmetics. The whole place was well branded.

The weavers and their loom at The Bee Farm, Bohol
The weavers and their loom at The Bee Farm, Bohol
The weavers and their loom at The Bee Farm, Bohol
The weavers and their loom at The Bee Farm, Bohol

On top of that, they also produce woven Raffia (a fiber from a native palm tree also called Raffia) products like bags, table runners, place mats, et cetera.

The whole experience, albeit short, was a window on how communities help together to bring ingenuity and creativity in creating something sustainable, natural and organic, and offer it to the world.

Also, I think I have overcome my aversion to bees. We might not become the best of buddies, but at least I didn’t flinch even just once whilst holding that tray.

Leave a Reply

