The Yummy Beetle

If you happen to know a little bit about my hometown of Lipa City, Batangas, you’d know about the fact that we’re highly famous because of kapeng barako. It’s a strong blend of coffee liberica that kicks you hard with just one shot. Even if I was born (but not raised) in Lipa, I’m not that partial with strong coffee. I’m more of a tea drinker. But, I would always bet on the quality of a freshly brewed (rightly brewed) kapeng barako for its waking power.

Speaking of coffee, even if we’re known for it, you could count on one hand some good cafes around the city. Chief amongst them are international franchises like Starbucks and Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf — which doesn’t quite represent our locally grown coffee beans. So when a new cafe opens up (not another franchise and not another Cafe de Lipa) that has its own theme going, people will get curious. I am one of them.

Enter Purple Beetle Cafe

I wasn’t expecting much other than the pictures I’ve seen from some work colleagues who’ve already gone there. It wasn’t too encouraging as there are just a handful of pictures and reviews so far. So, when out of town colleagues and friends decided to visit me here in Lipa for the weekend, I suggested for us to try Purple Beetle Cafe. [They actually have a purple-colored beetle at their store front.]

Purple Beetle Cafe
Purple Beetle Cafe

Strategically located beside Starbucks, the place is cozy (not enough parking space to squeeze in) with a few tables inside and out. Their menu boasts of more than coffee to offer…

Beef and potato wedges at Purple Beetle Cafe
Beef and potato wedges at Purple Beetle Cafe

And they got freak frappes!

Donut Frappe at Purple Beetle Cafe
Sugar rush! Donut Frappe at Purple Beetle Cafe

I undoubtedly have a weakness of a well constructed sundae. All the yummy-ness of ice cream, toppings and chocolate syrup just pulls me right in. So… with everything to share, we ordered a couple to sample. And boy was it good!

Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream Sundae at Purple Beetle Cafe
Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream Sundae at Purple Beetle Cafe
S'mores Ice Cream Sundae at Purple Beetle Cafe
S’mores Ice Cream Sundae at Purple Beetle Cafe

A little bit pricey for a provincial location, it’s still worth every penny as every spoonful gave me a foodgasm. I can’t wait to try more on their menu.

 

Leave a Reply

