Balanced Breakfasts

If you asked me five years ago if I eat breakfast, I would have replied with a resounding “No!“.

In My Kitchen: Toast with honey-cured ham, melted cheese and poached egg
In My Kitchen: Toast with honey-cured ham, melted cheese and poached egg

However, in recent years, I’ve changed some of my habits and one of them is going through the day without any breakfast. Maybe it’s because of the highly-cerebral nature of my job that I try my best to fuel up before starting the day and don’t get distracted by the obnoxious growling of my stomach in the middle of an executive meeting.

In My Kitchen:  Buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup, honey-cured bacon , scrambled eggs and a pot of Twinings English breakfast tea
In My Kitchen: Buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup, honey-cured bacon , scrambled eggs and a pot of Twinings English breakfast tea
In My Kitchen: toasts with butter and blueberry confit , sliced kiwi , vegetable omelette with gruyere and gouda cheese and a hot pot of English Tea Shop organic white tea
In My Kitchen: toasts with butter and blueberry confit , sliced kiwi , vegetable omelette with gruyere and gouda cheese and a hot pot of English Tea Shop organic white tea

I tried my best, but there are still some days that it’s proven challenging to make something at least decent to have. Well, at least during the weekends I have what you call a “balanced diet”.

In My Kitchen: Egg in a hole on wheat bread , grilled bratwurst , kiwi and redplum fruit bowl topped with honey and cream and hot choco with foam
In My Kitchen: Egg in a hole on wheat bread , grilled bratwurst , kiwi and redplum fruit bowl topped with honey and cream and hot choco with foam
In My Kitchen: Toasted malunggay pandesal (horseradish bread) with cream cheese , slices of salami , eggs , blueberry yoghurt , kiwi fruit and a mug of teh tarik (Malaysian milk tea)
In My Kitchen: Toasted malunggay pandesal (horseradish bread) with cream cheese , slices of salami , eggs , blueberry yoghurt , kiwi fruit and a mug of teh tarik (Malaysian milk tea)

Of course, paired with my choice of beverage, either tea, milk or chocolate, it’s one heck of a day to start. I end up feeling that I can tackle the different challenges I’ll face throughout the day… at least the first half of the day.

In My Kitchen: Typical Filipino breakfast with hot pandesal (Filipino bread in the morning) from a local panaderia with crisp bacon , creamy scrambled eggs and hot dark choco
In My Kitchen: Typical Filipino breakfast with hot pandesal (Filipino bread in the morning) from a local panaderia with crisp bacon , creamy scrambled eggs and hot dark choco

It’s paying off great, if I may say so, considering that I don’t have hunger pangs by mid-morning or built myself to a very big appetite by lunchtime, making me binge or something.

In My Kitchen: Some fresh fruit (watermelon and honeydew melon ), scrambled eggs , sausages, toast, strawberry yoghurt and a hot pot of English Tea Shop super berry tea
In My Kitchen: Some fresh fruit (watermelon and honeydew melon ), scrambled eggs , sausages, toast, strawberry yoghurt and a hot pot of English Tea Shop super berry tea

Also, I stopped taking my daily dose of appetite-reducing supplement anymore, but still had the same habits as I have noticed.

In My Kitchen: Belgian waffles with strawberry preserve and peanut butter , lean Canadian bacon , fluffy scrambled eggs , strawberry yoghurt and slices of fresh red plums and milk chocolate drink
In My Kitchen: Belgian waffles with strawberry preserve and peanut butter , lean Canadian bacon , fluffy scrambled eggs , strawberry yoghurt and slices of fresh red plums and milk chocolate drink

All’s good with the healthy eating habits so far. Paired with meditation and some stretching exercises, I have indeed made a 180 degree turn for the better. Actually, I feel way better than 5 years ago. It only takes a little change in perspective, I guess.

Leave a Reply

